[Witchy tag] The big one!

    Hey guys! I know, I knowAnother witchy tag. I like them. I’m sorry. This one should be the last one for a while, because this is a big one. It is a whopping 77 questions, which I took shamelessly from here. I don’t feel too bad about it because at the end of hers she does tag the reader. With that aside, let’s get to it!

Do you use runes as a written language?

      I do! Or…. I know how to. I learned when I got obsessed with the hobbit and kept a journal in the Elder-Futhark  runes. I remember my step-dad saw me writing in the runes on Christmas and was like… offended? I was literally writing about my day and was drawing a Hurricane symbol because there was a hurricane on the coast I was concerned about. 

Do you feel you have natural gifts such as (premonitions, hearing spirits) and if so do you think this is what led you to this path?

      Like I said in a previous tag, I think it was the first one… or maybe I said something different because I don’t recall mentioning my prophetic dreams. When I was a kid I had prophetic dreams and I’ve always been an empath. I can sense the energy in a room and tell when something is off or when someone is feeling a strong emotion. Sometimes I can feel when someone shuts themselves off to me, it’s like a door slamming in my face. 

What deity do you work with if any and why?

       Right now I do a lot of work with Hecate, because she came forward and claimed me once Athena stepped to the side. I tend to work with a lot of the same goddess for a long period of time and pretty much call the gods as I need them. That’s just because I haven’t been claimed by a god yet. I’m okay with that! If/When I do, though I’m ready! I evidently like to honor my deities with tattoos. Hecate got hers over the weekend.

Witchy Tattoo!- Triple Moon Hecate
The tattoo in question, I designed it myself with the help of an image I was using as reference. There were no tattoos online like this. Had to go and make it myself.

    If you’re interested in the design itself, I posted it to my witchy Instagram, Rowan Lunara Cyrene. The tattoo itself got 130+ likes on instagram, so I figured I’d post the art for it just in case.

Have you always worked with this same deity?

      When you say ‘always’ do you consistently forever? If so, then no. If you mean have I had a relationship with them for the whole time I was a practicing witch, then yes.

Do you use any personal items in your practice, (blood, semen, tears, urine, etc)?

     Nope. Unless you count energy as a personal item.

Do you do pass life readings or have ever had one done; who where you or how did you die?

      I went into this in more detail in the first tag, but I haven’t had a reading done since I grew up, but I do still have a memory from my past life. Long story short, I was a man and my wife and I were helping people evade taxes in England and my wife was taken to the tower to be executed or held at trial. I fled and I can’t recall my death. I just remember them taking her away.

What is your favorite magical tool?

     My gems!

What is a song or type of music that gets you into a witchy mood?

      I don’t have like a witchy soundtrack, but I know I used to vibe to some music from Rouroni Kenshin. I think it was his training music? It sounded like this reed flute and the whole song was beautiful. I do also tend to really like Celtic Flute music for getting me into that the right headspeace. 

Where is the most magical place you have ever been?

       I still don’t have a great answer to this… for me I can feel the magic and the flow of the energy around me when I’m outside under the moonlight and I can almost let it take me away.

What animal is your familiar if any?

     My cat Sebastian is my familiar! 

If you have a familiar, did you choose them or did they choose you?

      I went more into detail in that first tag post, so I’ll not bore you here. But I was called to him and he chose me. So it was a thing where we picked each other. 

What in the craft are you best at (tarot, spells, ritual,) etc?

     I don’t know… I think right now I’m feeling pretty good with my spell work involving protection. 

What in the craft would you say you are weaker at?

     Intuitive reading and probably a lot else, like I was saying in the very last tag post, I fell in and out the path for a good number of years so there’s a lot I need to work on.

What is your most favorite part of your craft (spell writing, divination, etc)?

     The first thing that comes to mind is that I love feeling the energy around me. I love identifying who/what I’m dealing and feeling the emotions come through me. When I was sitting on lunch break and I kept catching frankincense for no reason (for the 3rd day in a row) and Hecate’s name popped into my head. I asked if it was her and the pure elation I felt at the moment was something else.

    I love being able to sense and communicate with spirits even if I have to do it with tools for the time being. 

What was the first witchy tool you ever purchased?

     Do Tarot cards count as a tool? Because, I’m pretty sure it was my first deck of tarot cards.  

What was your first homemade tool for your practice?

     I… don’t think I’ve made anything yet, I’m wanting the first tool-tool I make to be my wand. But for that I need to find wood. I was wanting Rowan but every time I think about a Rowan wand I have the word YEW pop up in my head. So I’m looking for some Yew to make my wand out of.

What are you feelings on raising kids in the craft?

     I don’t think we should raise children to be anything in particular and let them choose the path for themselves like my family did. My mother, though she put me on this path through exposure, gave me the option. She showed me what was here and didn’t pressure me into believing. Because of that, I was able to look into and investigate other faiths and see how they felt to me. 

     Any sort of indoctrination of the future generations would be avoided in a perfect world, we all deserve the right to choose our paths.

If you were a goddess or god, who would you be?

     Athena! I’m very, very protective of those I love. I’m also crafty, I do all manner of matronly crafts like crochet and knitting. And I’ll fight you, though I like to err on the side of diplomacy.          

Do you use astrology in your practice? In what ways?

     I don’t- but it’s something I’m currently looking into.

What if any ways could you practice dark magic and still respect the beliefs of Wicca?

      Like I said in a previous tag, magick is neither light nor dark. The practitioner makes it so. Wiccans, from what I recall, do no magick without the consent of the recipient if it’s anyone but themselves. They don’t affect will or manipulate through magickal means. That being said, in my somewhat small understanding, I don’t think you can do dark magick (dark magick being that which ignores free will, or harms) and respect Wicca.

Do you have any witches in your family?

    I don’t- my mother was as close as I have and she was never like, an actual witch as far as I know. 

What item can you not witch without?

      I can witch without anything, really. It’s the witch that makes the magick, not the tools.

What is your favorite sabbat or time of year ritual?

      Samhain, since it’s the only one I’ve really done. This is my first Yule as a rededicant. 

Have you ever had a YouTube burn out?

      Oh yeah. A lot. That’s when I switch from whatever I’m watching to a different subject matter. I generally cycle between True Crime, Beauty, Horror/Paranormal, Art and Witchy channels. It’s even better if they can combine any number of these. Harmony Nice does Witchy/Wicca videos and sprinkles in crime and paranormal. I love it!

What is your fav witchy shop, and do they have an online store?

      My favorite is probably my first. It’s called Mystical Treasures Emporium and it’s in Montgomery, Alabama. They have a website, but not an online store.

When buying witchy items, do they choose you or do you choose them?

      They choose me… Most of the time. Sometimes I just really, really want something so I pick it online without knowing if it will vibe with me. I do greatly prefer to go in person and see what calls me.

How do you organize your herbs/ingredients?

      I have a lot of little cork bottles, herb jars and small plastic bags. Right now all of my dried herbs are in a white shoe box, though I do want to get another little shelf for my altar so I can make an apothecary shelf for my herbs and oils.   

Do you have interest in other deities that you don’t work with; if so, which ones?

      I particularly like the Norse deities, and the Egyptian though I haven’t worked with Freya or Isis in years and years. I have an interest in Hades, but haven’t worked with him at all.

Do you have a fav time of day to do spell work; if so, why?

     Between 10PM and midnight, for sure. I feel like the energy is just better at this time to perform spell work. 

Are you solitary or do you work with a coven?

     Solitary- I tend to work alone while I figure things out. I want to take in information and figure out what it means to me in particular. Once I have a firm footing, I would love to join a coven. 

If you could pick a certain witchcraft tradition that fits your practice most what would it be (Druid, Celtic, Wicca etc)?

     Honestly? Out of those listed, Wicca. But, I did find that Wicca didn’t feel right to me when I defined myself under that label. I’m eclectic, so I adopt and adapt a lot of different beliefs from across the board into my own path.

What was the most creative spell you have ever done. What did you use?

     Like I said in the previous tag when I answered this question, I’m not really too creative with my spells despite considering myself an artist. I did a prosperity spell bag with lots of herbs and stones, made the bag myself and topped it with a sigil and some yellow yarn to close it off. 🙂

What do you prefer for divination (tarot, oracle, runes ,etc, and why?

     The Tarot cards. No doubt. I have runes but they intimidate me, I have Oracle cards, but I don’t think I like them. I have t̶w̶o̶ Four pendulums and while I do love them, I’m not sure if I’m projecting when I do those readings. My tarot decks all have different personalities and my favorite is the Goddess deck, as it has lots of maternal energy and really tries to tell me what I need to know in the kindest way possible.

What are some ways you keep yourself grounded?

     I’ll generally light my candles and turn out the lights, plop myself in front of them and stare into the flame while taking deep, slow breaths and trying to rein my thoughts and slow them down to a lull.

Have you ever had a spell go horribly wrong?

      I don’t think so… the closest I can figure to a spell going wrong, was a Samhain ritual where I didn’t cast a circle and I spent the next three days feeling like… super dark energy in my altar room. I remember that I snuffed the candles and then basically ran to bed and had the freakiest nightmares.

What are your opinions on initiation rituals?

    I feel like I don’t understand them enough to have an opinion quite yet. Aren’t they only really important in a coven setting?

Have you ever had full contact with your deity; if so, what happened?

     Full Contact? I don’t know what that means in this context. When Athena had claim over me, I would feel her near me and sometimes she would make the Athena card in one of my decks jump out to let me know she was there. Most recently, Hecate made contact with me. Nothing crazy has happened insofar, I was smelling frankincense everywhere for no discernible reason and I kept getting words like her name pop into my head. She’s very responsive.

What about you is un witchy?

     Umm…. just about everything? I draw anime, obsessed with coffee, love technology (yes, I know tech witchery is a thing) and I generally have a lot of areas where I could incorporate witchcraft but I don’t.

For the dating witch, how do you tell a new love interest that you are a witch?

      Honestly? It’s one of the first things I bring up. I’m not particularly shy about it. I wear my Greek coin and pentacle and spell vials…. I don’t really hide it. They know what they’re getting into.

Who is a past witch that has inspired you ,famous or not?

     I… don’t know….

How do you handle rejection from a fellow witch that refuses to do a reading or spell for you?

     I don’t, because I do things on my own and tend not to ask for other witches to cast spells for me. I got this.

Do you think it is necessary to cast a circle when you do spell work or any magical working?

     I’m not going to go too far into this, but I’ll say it’s a good idea. Per my Samhain ritual where I don’t know what I invited into my home, I recommend a circle be cast.

If Steven Spielberg called and wanted to make a movie of your life, who would you want to play as you?

     What kind of question is this? Samuel L Jackson, of course.

What is some advice that was given to you that you pass along because it made an impact on your path?

    I have no guidance from an older witch from any point of my practice. It’s sad.

What is some advice you would give someone who has not found their diety?

    It’ll come to you. Don’t stress it. It’s not really as imperative as some would have you believe. For starters you can either just honor the divine feminine and masculine energies or look for the Pantheons that really speak to you, or for a deity that you’re particularly close to. Start with the witchy basics and learn all you can, your deity will come to you when they’re ready and when you have the skillset under your belt. 

Where do you buy your herbs?

    Ebay or Etsy. I would buy them locally but like, there aren’t any witchy places near me that sell a variety of herbs. Especially not a variety of herbs together and that will get expensive really fast.

How did you feel casting your first circle (silly, scared, stumbling, etc)?

     Definitely felt a little silly. But now that I’m getting more used to casting the circle, I feel more powerful and protected when calling on the elements and my guides/deities. I’m still not sure how I want to open the circle, but that’ll come with time.

What was your first successful spell?

    I don’t know if this it too optimistic but I think my first successful spell was a Storm Calling spell, I don’t know if it was going to rain anyway or if I helped it along but whatever the case it bolstered my confidence for my later spells.

What is your general practice for meditation?

     I still don’t meditate very much, though it’s definitely something I need to do. I went into my cleansing meditation in the previous post.

Are you a day walker or a night comer?

     I had to google this. Penny Dreadful? Really? I don’t believe in devils, so by that logic I guess I’m a day walker?

How and when did you know you wanted to be on this path?

     It wasn’t a specific point where I knew for I wanted to be on this path, I just always knew. From the time I was a child I was casting spells, talking to spirits and making ‘potions’. I mean, I did fall on and off the path, but I’ve always known it’s for me. I just haven’t always known what to do with that information. 

What type of pagan are you (Wiccan, eclectic, hedge, etc)?

     Eclectic, hands down. With some Lunar leanings and Chaos Magick for good measure. I’m incorporating more Green Witchery right now, too!

What candle color do you use most?

     Black, since I’ve been doing a lot of protective work. Otherwise I tend to lean on the white candles for their all purpose capabilities.

What area would you like to see your craft grow in?

     All of them. Is all of them a good answer, because I would like to grow in everything. I guess the main thing I want to expand in is my confidence in my craft. In a recent card spread where I asked how I can better serve Hecate, I was told to trust myself. I think I lack that in almost all aspects of my life, not to get too real on you guys. That pretty much ties in with my other main goal of enhancing my intuition and being more fluid with my cards.

What is your preference, to buy or make your witchy tools?

    Right now it’s to buy tools, because while I know it’s not the look of the tool that matters… I’m still wanting my stuff to look nice, you know? I think the one thing I really want to make myself, is my wand to make sure I have that connection behind it.

What fictional witch book/screen inspired you the most?

     Not a particular witch, but the movie The Craft. Let me tell you, that movie woke up something in me that hasn’t shut up ever since. Also, did you know that when they called on the elements at the beach it was an actual calling of the corners. Every time they filmed that part it would storm, and they eventually had to just keep it as it was.

    I actually found this to illustrate that freaky stuff went down during their calling of the corners.

” During the invocation of the spirit scene on the beach a bunch of spooky shit went down. A colony of bats appeared and lingered on set, the waves rose up and extinguished the candles used for the scene and when Nancy was calling for the spirit to “fill her” the set lost power.

With your first spell where you alone or in a coven?

     Considering I’ve always been solitary, it was alone.

What is your favorite candle, incense scent for magical purposes?

    I’m obsessed with Dragon Blood and sometimes Myrrh for offerings and getting into a headspace to do  witchy spellwork. 

Where is your favorite place to go to reconnect with nature?

     Under the moonlight, pretty much. I’m terrified of woods at night, but a nice peaceful clearing in the woods is also lovely to touch base with Gaia and really feel connected to my own witchy-ness.

Do you believe in fantasy creatures (unicorns, gnomes, elves, fairies, etc)?

     Honestly?? Right now, that’s something I question. Like the belief in Demons, I’m trying to figure out how they all fit into my particular system of beliefs. While I don’t staunchly disbelieve in them, I won’t say that I’m devout either. I will say this, though, I do want to believe. 

Do you believe in ghosts/spirits?

     YES.

Would you ever teach the craft?

    Once I get a good foothold, I don’t see why I wouldn’t teach people witchy things. But I first have to kind of pinpoint what’s integral to me and what sort of Witchcraft I lean towards. I do tend to try to help people if I’m asked something directly or if someone expresses an interest in something I have knowledge in.  

What if any legal herb do you use for moods?

     I… don’t. I did try a CBD lollypop recently and I did notice an elevated mood. But possibly a placebo? I don’t really like to rely on things to perk me up or shift my moods (except for COFFEE, of course!), because I’m stubborn. I do have some Lemongrass oil and it’s hard for me to be angry when I smell that, so maybe essential oils are onto something?

What is the most recent spell/ritual you have done? (slight detail please)

    Do I have to go into detail? I prepared a spell vial with herbs and gems, to facilitate psychic awareness, protection from negative entities and spirit calling. I invoked Hecate to aid me in this goal and did a short ritual to enchant the vial and awaken the herbs/gems. I then placed the vial under the moonlight, thanked Hecate and left her an apple cut shortways as thanks for showing herself to me and aiding me.

Do you have a happy place you go to during meditation?

     I can’t visualize, so nope.

What is your favorite witchy book?

    I don’t have a favorite right now, but I’m really enjoying Scott Cunningham and anything involving Hecate. 

Do you have a ritual to get ready before a ritual or spell? (what is it)

    Not really, though it’s something I’m figuring out.

Do you always use your own spells or do you tweak others?

     It depends if I can find a spell that meshes with my intent, if it’s close but no cigar, I’ll tweak it. Otherwise I generally completely do my own spells from the ground up.

Do you prefer spells/ritual inside or outside?

     The main ritual is indoors with a shorter secondary ritual beneath the moon.

If you are coming from a Christian/catholic background. Did you find the transition hard with family and the whole going to Hell thing? Basically leaving all you been told was right to pursue a witchy things?

     I never felt a connection to the Judeo-Christian faith, and believe me, I tried. I read the bible and took notes. I attended church, I don’t think I ever really gave it too much regard beyond I guess trying to make that connection for my families sake. I remember going to Vacation Bible School and hearing people tell me “Let jesus into your heart!”, all I could do was imagine Jesus knocking on a door and getting exasperated with my utter refusal to let him anywhere near me. 

    It never felt right and actually, felt rather invasive to me. Always being watched by an entity, at all times might be a comfort to some. But for me, it made me deeply uncomfortable. My family did tell me I was going to hell, in fact they also told the children in the family. My dear sweet cousins were also told that their Beloved cousin was going to hell because she hated Jesus. 

    It was always my belief that as long as I don’t go out into the world wreaking havoc and hurting people, then even if I’m wrong, whatever energy is out there that I’m going to meet when I die will know that I was a good person. If I’m going to hell anyway, I’d rather do it honestly. For a little while, I did wrestle with the arguments from my own blood but eventually decided it’s my life and my path literally doesn’t effect them so I embraced my witchy-ness.

What are your totem animals?

     I don’t know if I’ve given that too much deep thought in a few years. I don’t know if I even have one, but I did used to feel a deep connection to moths.

What are some things you reuse after spells/ritual work?

    Everything,  to be honest. I reuse my candles, Athame, offering dish….   

Who helped you most when you starting on your witchy path?

     The library! I used to live in libraries! I would spend hours looking at books and flipping through their pages. This was especially endlessly useful when my family took my books and first altar. It could have been worse, they could have banned me from the library but to be fair, I still would have gone in.

Do you know any good witchy phone apps (like moon phases)?

    I do have the moon phases app, aside from that I use…

  1. Picture This, which identifies plants. You can pay for thr $20 a year subscription or wrack up free identifies by checking in and watching ads. Since I’m doing more green witchey this is super great for me because I’m very interested in knowing what I can use certain plants for.
  2. Labyrinthos is another app I use a fair bit. It’s kind of like tarot flash cards? If you’re trying to learn card meanings, I recommend this! My one qualm is that it doesn’t use the OG Rider-Waite deck, but rather some that are super minimal. I feel like I’d be better at connecting the meanings to the card if I had all of the symbols and illustrations available to me.

What is your favorite witchy/magical study?

        Right now anything to do with correspondences. I’m enjoying learning about what attributes things have. Besides that, I’m enjoying learning all I can about Hecate and her history.    

Outside of the YouTube and Facebook community, do you have a lot of witchy friends in the physical world?

     If you had asked me this when I started this post like a month or more ago, I would have said no. But I’ve managed to make a couple of friends. One is a witch of 10-ish years and another is just starting her path after being called to it by her deity.

Do you feel that the deities we work with are a force from one higher power and that all beliefs and religions are from the same one God/place?

    Honestly, I don’t know. I used to feel like the gods were just one energy source with multiple names to fit your practice. Their very invocation was a tool. But after Hecate reached out to me, I think I’m of the mind that there’s basically an infinite number of gods. I’m still fleshing some stuff out with my own beliefs, but honestly just one huge mega-god creeps me out and I’m inclined to believe there’s more than one and that they don’t watch me while I shower.

Leave a comment